New Year’s Resolutions: A Revisit

(Today is a short post because I’m going on vacation tomorrow.  If you want to rob my house, don’t. There are wayyyy too many nosy neighbors looking after my condo. And yeah, the catsitter will be around every day to make sure the feline stays alive.  And well, after all that effort to thwart my neighbors, pure disappointment will wash over you as you realize that there’s not much to steal anyway.  FYI.)

There is Nothing...



I never make New Years Resolutions.  Until this year.  For some reason, 2011 is a turning point for me… lots of things that I wanted to change.  Why not change them all on January 1???  Six months later-ish, it’s time to assess just how well I did.



I made two resolutions.  They were the typical ones: start exercising and give up my Diet Coke addiction.  A third one was tacked on sometime in February… quit drinking.  But that was a “fake resolution:” I was never a problem drinker; I like to drink wine because of the taste and to be social.  Never to get drunk – but let’s not lie, it does happen.  But lately, alcohol and me were just not getting along  and we were on the verge of breaking up anyway.  It was an easy checkmark in the resolution counter.



Well, the alcohol part was realized.  My last real glass of wine was on May 30.  But ditching it was not conscious by any means.  I gave up alcohol like I gave up beef years ago:  When I was 13, I bit into an nasty, undercooked Wendy’s hamburger, spit it out, and knew I could never eat another patty again.  Pork went shortly after… I haven’t eaten either in years.  Same happened with the vino: I drank a really nasty glass of Pinot Grigio.  It will never happen again.



Exercise has commenced as well, and I average about 30-45 minutes of cardio/strength training 5-6 times a week.  Like every time I’ve gotten in shape, my lower body gets kickstarted first: my quads, hamstrings and calves look amazing.  Unfortunately, it takes time for my upper body to catch up, so I’m a bit disproportional right now.  However, I’m still waiting for Suzy, my midsection to move out so that I’ll be happy in a bikini this summer…



Oh, Diet Coke.  How I love to hate you.  You do nothing but make me ill, but I just can’t quit you.  My achilles’ heel still haunts me today.  This may be a resolution that may be put off til next year… we shall see.



About No Disrespect

A little schmuck in a big world
This entry was posted in Happy Happy!, Holy Cow, Life, New Beginnings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Year’s Resolutions: A Revisit

  1. Pingback: It’s been a long time… |

What do ya have to say, suckas?!?!???

