Six Things I’ve Learned this Week: June 4 2010

The weather’s too nice… so let’s not waste too much time in setting up the scene. Let’s go!

1.) Thanks to my friend Jada, I now know not to put my overheated laptop in the refrigerator. Now, I never would have thought about doing so, but I have received stranger advice…

Never mind... this is ludicrous...

Never mind... this is ludicrous...

2.) I went to the store last week to buy a pair of shoes to replace some old, ratty ones. I thought I was being clever when after purchasing said shoes, I tossed the old ones in the trash and put on my brand-spanking new shoes for the walk home. Girlfriends: You learn the hard way that you can’t break into them that quickly. Yeow!!!!

If you're going to get a blister, it might as well be one shaped as a heart...

If you're going to get a blister, it might as well be one shaped as a heart...

3.) I know now what orogeny means. And I did not have to ask my sister, either.  Fortunately, my knowledge of Geology officially ends here.

That's what HE said... sorry, I had to go there.

That's what HE said... sorry, I had to go there.

4.)  I suddenly have found a new summer love: Cream of Wheat.  Go figure.

5.) My second love: Oohs and Aahs Restaurant in the U Street Corridor.  A gang of us went there Friday night… and oh. my. dog.  Unbelievable soul food at it’s best.  I witnessed some of my friends food-gasming at the serving area even before we ordered our food.  And once dug into it, we all died and went to heaven.

Never try THAT again, woman.

Never try THAT again, woman.

We helped ourselves to each others’ plates… and some stranger’s dinners at the next table.  (Sharing is caring!)  All of us are carrying around food babies at the moment because of this experience.  The con is that you can’t eat here too often.. as soul food has that… how do I say?  That “stick straight to your arteries” goodness… but man, it was so worth the 5,000 calories.

After sampling all of the meat dishes, mac n cheese, sweet potatoes, etc., the winner of the day were: the collard greens.  Yup!  You can definitely get your kids to start eating their veggies if you take them here.  FYI.

6.) Why, oh why am I having a 5 hour text conversation with one of my good friends, when a two minute phone call would cover it?  It’s obvious that we are both around our cellphones… mysteries of the world.  Still unresolved.

I hope you’re enjoying your weekend, and I’ll see ya Monday!  Ciao!

About No Disrespect

A little schmuck in a big world
This entry was posted in DC, Friendship, girl stuff, Six Things I Learned This Week, Stupidity, texting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do ya have to say, suckas?!?!???

