Westboro Baptist Church: The Sequel

I hope everyone had a great Memorial Day weekend full of BBQ’s, too much sun and lots of pool time.  If you went out of town, welcome back!  I’m sooooo jealous… especially if you went to the beach.

I spent my time mostly having a quiet weekend at home.  Since I live next to Arlington Cemetery, I generally spend Memorial Day there walking around, admiring all of the American flags and interacting with veterans who are kind enough to mingle with us tourist peons.   I am SO proud of our Men and Women in Uniform, and I make a point to thank them because they protect our country from the bad guys in the world.   Unfortunately, they are powerless to protect us from the Westboro Baptist Church, whose representatives come to Arlington National Cemetery every year to take a dump on our National celebrations.

If you don’t know who these fools are, the Westboro Baptist Church (WBC) is an independent “church” full of inbred family members who make it their mission to travel around the country to promulgate their fundamentalist views on homosexuality.  They protest military and celebrity funerals, holding up signs that say “God Hates F**S!” and “Thank God for Dead Soldiers!” –  just to get a rise of people.  They enjoy desecrating the American Flag too.  I would have shared a picture at this point, but they’re just not worth it.  I don’t want to give them any more publicity than I’m doing now.

So I went on a very, very hot Memorial Day Monday to make sure I viewed this freakshow first – get it out of the way so that I can have a more enjoyable day.   To my surprise, this year, there were only THREE WBC protesters, looking very pathetic behind their partition, and holding up their hateful signs in almost defeat.  Because on the other side, 35-40 counterprotesters were drowning them out!  The only thing of note, just to make their protest even more surrealistically stupid, is that WBC likes the to take popular songs and rework the lyrics into something vile.  So Kate Perry’s song “Hot n’ Cold” was playing on a boombox (with different lyrics) – but thank dog, you couldn’t hear it over the cars honking and people across the street screaming!  Hot n Cold indeed!

I got bored after two minutes and left.  God Bless America!  And fuck the Westboro Baptist Church.  For their imposition on my time, I’m donating $50 to PFLAG, Parents, Families and Friends of Lesbians and Gays.  For more information and how to donate, see http://www.pflag.org.

 

 

About No Disrespect

A little schmuck in a big world
This entry was posted in Complaints, Current Events, DC, I'm annoyed, Life, Oh The Humanity!, Political Shizz and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Westboro Baptist Church: The Sequel

  1. Note: Apparently the KKK was there too… I did see those folk, but didn’t know who they were or what they represented. They were passing out miniature US Flags. I’m so glad I didn’t inquire about getting one for myself… yup, it WAS a freakshow. *smh

    http://edition.cnn.com/2011/US/05/30/arlington.cemetery.protesters/index.html

  2. Pingback: Six Things I Learned This Week: The “Give it To Me” Version (10/21/11) |

What do ya have to say, suckas?!?!???

